Peru holds UN Security Council presidency for April

New York, Peru on Sunday will officially hold the United Nations Security council (UNSC) presidency for April replacing the Netherlands.

Permanent representative of Peru to the UN, Ambassador Gustavo Meza-Cuadra, will hold a press briefing on Monday evening to share the council programs of work for the month.

The UN body has 15 members, and each member has one vote. Tthe permanent members of the council known as the “Permanent Big Five”, including China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly including the Netherlands, Sweden, Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Poland and Peru.

The Security Council is one of the six main organs of the UN, which also include the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice and the UN Secretariat.

All six organs were established in 1954, after the UN was founded.

Source: Jordan News Agency